Between A Dream

by Phonseca

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £7 GBP  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Lovely Gatefold Digipack CD with original artwork by Scott Purnell c/w lyrics to Wait For Me.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Between A Dream via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      £10 GBP or more 


Dont Stay In 05:25
Frozen Music 05:18
I heard you knew what was coming That you'd do it all again I heard you never fear the future Now she feels like your only friend I heard you've gone too far again But this happens all the time Chorus Your eyes shone bright My life flew by I knew my time would come I heard you made the same mistakes I heard my heart break in two (x 3) I'll take my pen and start again
I See Stars 03:53
Wait For Me 05:17
Wait For Me Inside out, Upside down You listen now, with your eyes closed The stars aligned and life goes on I'm not leaving here, you feel ice cold Chorus I know you only too well I know you will wait for me We fall apart again and again Its only a game no ones to blame So don't come back or be afraid Wont spread the word or leave a trace You walk so slow with your hands closed Just killing time, by your side Between a dream, lying still I don't know why, say goodbye There's nothing here, by the look on your face Can you hear me now with your mind closed Don't fade away, don't fade away Don't dissapear, wait for me Don't fade away, don't fade away You're not young but you don't feel old Don't fade away, don't fade away You're not young, now you won't grow old


Between a Dream is a self released 9 track debut album that includes tunes from the Afterglow EP which gained airplay on Gideon Coe’s BBC 6 Music show and very positive reviews from National music press and blogs.
The glacial opening track What Would You Do, was inspired by the poem Afterglow, by Helen Lowrie Marshall while the lead track is the albums euphoric penultimate tune, Maybe Tomorrow which features lead bass from Robin Hawkins formerly of The Automatic. Three other tracks have the stunning vocals of newcomer Kristina Sheppard and another is the hypnotic, electro influenced, Dont Stay In. There’s also the remarkable remix of I See Stars by legendary electronica artist Robin Rimbaud (Scanner), which closes the album.
Your Favourite Film was originally intended for the British indie film, Relative Desire, which sadly never reached production but you can imagine this and other music from the album certainly being placed in a film or two in the future. With the sublime Wait For Me, Frozen Music and the beautiful cover of New Order’s classic Bizarre Love Triangle, all featuring the vocals of Kristina, Matthew has released a work that’s justified in comparisons with artists like Ryuichi Sakamoto, Joy Division, The Pet Shop Boys and Jon Hopkins.
Lastly, recording the vocals and tweaking production at Invada Studios, Bristol (Beak, Portishead, The KVB, This Is The Kit) with engineer Stu Matthews, ensured an original, inspired and self assured debut album.


Dave Goodwin - PennyBlack Music (UK)
“People say that a good album or piece of music is one that you will remember for a long time. This is one of the contenders already for that end of year top ten. Marvellous!”

Steve Lamacq - BBC6Music (UK)
“This is a great album, really interesting stuff”

Jason Small - Small Music Scene Blog (UK)
“All in all a professionally assembled and beautifully executed album from a man with genuine talent that cannot afford to go amiss”

Ray DeSpinlema - This is Chill Blog (USA)
“One of the most interesting releases on my radar this year”

Rick Anderson - CD Hotlist (USA)
“His debut album fascinatingly walks the fuzzy line that separates ambient electronica from synth pop”

Sean Gonzalez - New Noise Magazine (USA)
“Between a Dream floats into the room with genuine grace. Phonseca utilises ambient drones to swell in and take anxiety out of the room”

Benjamin York - Revista the 13th Magazine (ARG)
“The album has a magical radiance, there is a whole world of sonorities”


released February 15, 2019

All tracks written and produced by Matthew O’Connor except track 5. written by B.Sumner P.Hook G.Gilbert S.Morris.
Vocals on tracks 3, 5 and 7 by Kristina Sheppard. Bass guitar on track 8 by Robin Hawkins. Tracks 2,3,5,7 and 8 engineered by Stu Matthews at Invada Studios Bristol. Track 9 remixed by Robin Rimbaud. All tracks mastered by Shaun Joseph at Optimum Mastering Bristol.
Artwork by Scott Purnell.


all rights reserved



Phonseca Bristol, UK

Phonseca is the ambient/electronica project from Bristol’s much respected keys/synth player, Matthew O’Connor, who over the years gained vital experience in bands with styles as diverse as Britpop, Psyche, Shoegaze, House, Soundtrack and Electronica.

contact / help

Contact Phonseca

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Report this album or account

If you like Phonseca, you may also like: